icon fb

With the aims to create a city of active life style and to promote water activities and traditional folk sports in Taipei, a series of activities which includes "Dragon Boat Eye Dotting and River Worshiping Ceremony", “Dragon Boat Experience Camp”, “Steersperson’s Training Workshop”, “Simulation Pool Training”, “Dragon Boat Practice on Keelung River”, and “Taipei International Dragon Boat Championships” are held for “Taipei Dragon Boat Festival Carnival" at Dajia Riverside Park of Keelung River every year. The series of activities attract many experts from all over the world to come to Taipei for the dragon boat competition. In addition to racing activities, various traditional dragon boat festival celebrations and activities are also taking place at Dajia Riverside Park during Dragon Boat Festival for all participants and citizens to enjoy the festive atmosphere with friends and families.

The earliest Dragon Boat Races or similar events in Taipei can be traced back to 1895 when Taiwan was under Japanese ruling. The first official government sponsored race dates back as early as 1974 -“Taipei City Chiang Kai-Shek Cup Dragon Boat Championships”. At that time, it was mainly to cooperate with the government to promote Chinese Cultural Revival Movement and to advocate sports for all. It was organized by the International Lions Club. At first, the race was held near the Zhongxing Bridge in Danshui River. Later it moved to Shuiyuan Riverside Park under the Zhongzheng Bridge. And after the completion of Keelung River cutoff construction in 1995, the race then moved to its current location – Dajia Riverside Park of Keelung River.

As a growing number of cities adopting fiberglass dragon boats for racing, Taipei International Dragon Boat Championships still uses traditional wooden dragon boats as the competition vessels. The wooden dragon boats used in the Championships are handmade by the master boat builder Ching-Cheng Liu from the Sanjiaodu Ferry Port in Shilin District of Taipei. (There are only a handful of handmade dragon boats in Taiwan. With the traditional wood work and hand painting, wooden dragon boats are regarded as artworks.) On top of that, the use of standard size wooden dragon boats retains the tradition of "flag catching" to determine the winning of the race which adds to the excitement of the competition.

 

Reference link: National Repository of Cultural Heritage

• 龍舟賽辦理沿革

為打造運動風格城市,推動臺北市水域活動及發揚傳統民俗體育活動,每年於基隆河大佳河濱公園辦理「水岸臺北端午嘉年華」系列活動,內容包含「龍舟點睛暨祭江大典」、「龍舟體驗營」、「舵手研習營」、「盪槳池訓練」、「基隆河龍舟練習」及「臺北國際龍舟錦標賽」。端午佳節期間除了吸引來自各國好手前來競渡外,亦規劃與端午傳統節慶相關活動,與市民朋友一同體驗端午佳節氣氛。
臺北端午龍舟賽歷史,最早從1895年日據時代即有類似的活動舉行,正式由官方主辦則可追溯自1974年臺北市中正杯龍舟錦標賽開始,當時主要係配合政府推廣中華文化復興運動及鼓勵全民運動,由國際獅子會承辦第一屆龍舟比賽,迄今已有46年的歷史,當時比賽地點是位於淡水河中興橋附近,隨後又更改至今中正橋下的水源河濱公園,於1995年隨著基隆河段截彎取直工程,龍舟比賽才移至現在的大佳河濱公園舉行。
有別於越來越多城市採用競速的玻璃纖維龍舟,臺北國際龍舟錦標賽仍使用木造龍舟作為競賽的船隻,所採用的龍舟是由本市士林區三腳渡劉清正師傅所製造的木造龍舟(是全臺灣僅存少數純手工製作的龍舟,木造龍舟為手工繪製更可被視為藝術品)其中大型龍舟保留了「奪標」的傳統,更增添了競賽的刺激性。

參考連結:國家文化資料庫